Versione italiana

Pipe Organs

Chiesa di San Filippo Neri
Builder: Giuseppe II Serassi
Year built: 1816
Chiesa di San Filippo Neri

The organ of the church of San Filippo Neri is a fine example of the Lombard organ school of the nineteenth century. It was built in 1816 by Giuseppe II Serassi, the most important member of a family of craftsmen builders founded in the first half of the eighteenth century by Giuseppe Serassi "the old" and active until the end of the nineteenth century. In this period the organ was used with increasing success in the execution of transcriptions of symphonies and opera arias Bel Canto, as well as original compositions in the same style. The Serassi worked to get the instrument maximum tonal variety and effects bands, while maintaining a solid foundation of organ registers typically coming from the tradition of Renaissance and Baroque.

They repeated almost never the same phonic setting in over eight hundred organs scattered throughout Italy but specifically characterized each of them with elegance searching for most varied effects. The most common model is still the one to one keyboard as in the case of the organ of the church of San Filippo Neri.

The keyboard, with short octave, consists of 50 keys and range C1-E5 and division Bassi-Soprani at B2-C3. The pedal, with range C1-G#2, is made of 17 pedals, with short octave, lectern-like with 12 real notes. The registers are driven by levers placed in two columns to the right of the keyboard with the following setting:

First columnSecond columnAccessoriesDecoy pedals
at the right of the keyboardat the right of the keyboardover the pedalboard
Cornetto I sopraniPrincipale bassiCombinazione libera alla lombardaTrombe soprane
Cornetto II sopraniPrincipale sopraniTirapienoCorno inglese soprani
Trombe bassePrincipale II bassiTerza manoCorni dolci soprani
Trombe sopranePrincipale II sopraniUccellieraOttavino soprani
Corno inglese sopraniOttava bassiRollante
Viola bassiOttava soprani
Corni di tuba dolce sopraniDuodecima
Flauto traversiere sopraniDecimaquinta
Flauto in duodecima sopraniDecimanona
Flauto in ottava bassiVigesimaseconda
Flauto in ottava sopraniRipieno 4 file
Ottavino bassiContrabbassi con ottave
Ottavino sopraniTimballi
Voce umana sopraniTromboni al pedale
Principale bassi (Aziona la prima ottava del pedale)

The instrument was restored in 1995 by the Bottega Organara Dell'Orto & Lanzini.

Code and graphic by Lucio Marinelli